A visit to a Village

First time in my life I went to Mandaitivu A rural village situated in one of the islands of Srilanka. After losing the liveliness to the civil war which lasted for more than two decades, the village is currently under resettlement. Only Peoples who don’t have any other places to live in the country and who couldn’t escape the country have come again to their native place with some hopes to rebuild the village.

I had some of my relatives here and they left the island long ago because of the war [around early 90s] and they never returned here. Until now I never had a chance to visit here as the most of the island was under the control of security forces and normal civilians were not allowed to visit the island. Few weeks back when I was in the home for a holiday, I decide to go there as it is just 30 minutes ride from my home.

When I was going there, road was almost empty and only few vehicle passed me on my way. After entering to the village what I saw there at first was a surprising scene. Yes! Peoples may not have been on the street but they were on the fields. They have already started ploughing the fields even after a small shower of 2 days. Here the peoples are known for working hard and they are physically very strong. That’s why violence was very cheap here and peoples from other area had fear of these Mandaitivu people. There are lots of famous stories I have heard from my mom, about the violent activities of these people. Time has changed now! The people of the Mandaitivu village are showing me their mental fitness too.

Went up to the village’s fishing port. That was still under the control of navy. I had a few chat with them and get the permission to take some pictures. On that time fishermen had returned after fishing and they were processing the fishes and getting ready to transport the fishes to the nearest market.


On the way back i saw this bird may be a kind of egret, a quick snap while it was started to fly.

About balavasakan

Photography is my hobby, passion,even my life ! I am a person who is mad of snapping whatever things impress my eyes. Just trying to filling my life in this blog. Professionally a busy Doctor.
This entry was posted in Canon 600D, Landscapes, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A visit to a Village

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Oh I like these pictures, balavasakan, its very good to see the people and the place! The bird is a Sacred Ibis – called “sacred” I think because this was the scribe god Thoth of the ancient Egyptians – and this was the scribe god because because the beak looks like a pen. Adrian

Leave a Reply

